october;

In a blink of an eye, October is almost over.

It’s honestly scary how fast 2014 is going. It felt only like a few moments ago when I collected my O level results, followed by Kairos’2014 Orientation, MSAs, A Divisions, CTs, National Day and Teachers’ Day.

Soon, it’d be Christmas, New Year, Chinese New Year, and I’d be Australia bound for approximately 4 years. Many changes can occur in a short/long period of 4 years. As of today, I’m exactly 122 days away from one of the biggest changes in my life. I’m not really sure how I’m supposed to be feeling. Glad, ecstatic, exhilarated? Or anxious, troubled, intimidated? I honestly have no idea how I should be feeling. Happy or sad? But, one thing for sure is that, this experience I’m going to have, feels very surreal.

Yes, although I’ve always dreamt/thought of studying overseas, never have I expected it to be an option for me to escape from the current education system in Singapore. I’ve always wanted to study overseas with the perception of gaining a new experience because I have the choice to, and not because I’m forced to.

The thought of living surviving alone haunts me daily to the point where I question my being on whether I’m ready for this.

Am I really ready to get out of my comfort zone and yet, adapt to the new environment and feel comfortable?

And if I am able to adapt to the new environment and feel comfortable, won’t I be returning into my comfort zone, and wouldn’t the cycle be repeating itself?

Neale Donald Walsch once said, ‘Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.’

So if that’s true, what have I been doing with my “life” the past 16-17 years?

Family, friends and acquaintances, it’s going to be hard being away from them. On one hand, during my free time nowadays, I want to spend more time with all of them before I leave. However, on the other hand, I too, want to spend some time away from them lest I get too attached to them, making it even harder for me when I eventually leave.

And so, what do I do now?

Leave a Reply

