Superiority and maturity

After leaving SAJC, I find myself always lacking in some sort. JC life has set a benchmark in my life. The benchmark of tire. Now whenever I feel unmotivated or simply lazy, to do some studying, I’d look back at my J1 days and berate my current self for being such a wimp. If I could do it then (though hard work may not always be equal to good result, and was clearly proven), I feel that I have no rights to complain because the intensity of the workload here, is not even near half of that of J1’s. Basically, I feel I am in no position to complain because people have it worse. 

Ironically, spending 8 months in JC (studying at St Margarets might have been a part too), I believe, made my brain more active. I no longer read texts word for word, but go beyond and infer and question the meaning behind. I no longer take it for granted that the content tested is provided, and would engage in more independent study. I may sound very egoistical here but I feel, the rigorous education in Singapore, or maybe in St Margarets and SA (which definitely may not be the most rigourous), made me more superior to some others of my age. 

Studying overseas has really allowed me to realise how people from other country look up to Singaporeans. When you say you’re from Singapore, people automatically assume that you’re intelligent. Maybe it’s the fact that our first language is English, that gives us an edge – for us to win at the starting line. But I think it’s wrong to assume this. A country’s system doesn’t define who you are or what you can do. It’s what you do that truly define your abilities. 

Referring back to my point on not having the rights to complain, I actually also feel that there’s actually nothing worth complaining about. In school, (and I think because of my educational background), I tend to study and make more notes to the rest. This is seen as hardworking and diligent. And to some, tiring. But honestly, I’m just doing what I’m supposed to do as a student. Finding explanations for sections I lack understanding in, highlighting important sections to take note of etc. My classmates get very wowed when they see my lecture notes because it isn’t ‘clean’. It is highlighted and maybe messy due to all the extra notes that I added. Going back to the point, they tend to complain about the teacher’s teaching, and their lack of understanding in certain topics but do not put in any effort to seek understanding. So who is there to blame now? When the teacher asks if the students understand what he taught, and students do not reply, it’s of course natural for teachers to assume that we, students do understand. Instead of complaining, wouldn’t it be better to put the effort into studying and doing something more effective?

So yup! And exams are in 2 weeks, and that’s when I’ll be submitted my UCAS too. I hope all goes well!

To my friends who just received their A level results, great job! You guys have really come a long way and certainly deserve to be applauded. Your A level results definitely is important because it affects what you study in Uni. And if your results weren’t as desired, don’t lose hope. It isn’t the end. You can’t choose the journey but you can make the best out of it and ultimately, decide on the ending. 

Leave a Reply

